Pa Did It

by Edgar Guest

The train of cars that Christmas brought
is out of kilter now;
while Pa was showing how they went
he broke the spring somehow.
They used to run around a track —
at least they did when he
would let me take them in my hands
and wind ‘em with a key.
I could’a had some fun with them
if only they would go,
but, Oh! I never had a chance,
for Pa enjoyed them so.

The automobile that I got
that ran around the floor
was lots of fun when it was new,
but it won’t go no more.
Pa wound it up for Uncle Jim
to show him how it went,
and when those two got through with it
the running gear was bent,
and now it doesn’t go at all.
I mustn’t grumble though,
‘Cause while it was in shape to run
my Pa enjoyed it so.

I’ve got my blocks as good as new,
my mitts are perfect yet;
although the snow is on the ground
I haven’t got them wet.
I’ve taken care of everything
that Christmas brought to me,
Except the toys that run about
when wound up with a key.
But next year you can bet I won’t
make any such mistake;
I’m going to ask for toys and things
that my Pa cannot break.

.
From his book, Collected Verse of Edgar A Guest
© 1934 by The Reilly & Lee Company

Hello Everyone,

 

Hope you all had a good Christmas and haven’t broken all your toys, or the kiddies’ toys, yet. I came home on Dec 23rd after ten days in Alberta, so hopefully can get back into blogging harness again.

NOTICE:

All fall I’ve been gathering all my haiku and scheduling posts on Tree Top Haiku. Starting January 1st I’m going to “blog a book” on this site with at least three solid months, one per day, of these micro-poems. If you enjoy haiku, you’ll want to check this out.

Leave a comment